How to Account for Accretion

What is Accretion?Whether it’s an individual investor or a business owner looking to increase their earning power, understanding how accretion works is essential for individual and business investors to make the correct decisions going forward.

How Accretion Works for Bonds

Accretion is the gradual increase of a bond’s value over time. As a bond moves toward its maturity date, it increases in value until it reaches its face or par value – or what’s paid to the bondholder upon maturity.

If a bond has a face value of $2,000, yet it’s discounted at $1,900 when it’s offered for sale, the present value of the bond is $1,900, leaving the difference of $100 as the discount. Between the time of purchase and when it matures, the value of the bond will appreciate, up to its par value of $2,000. As the bond increases in value, this is referred to as an accretion discount. 

When it comes to accounting for bond accretion, there are two common methods.

Straight-Line Method

This approach documents the bond’s appreciated monetary gain and is laid out equally over the bond’s time frame until maturity. For a bond with a term of 10 years and a business that publishes its earnings once a quarter, there are 40 earnings releases.

If there’s a $100 discount, spread across 40 quarters, that is $2.50 every three months. The $2.50 is the quarterly accretion until the bond matures.

Constant Yield Method

This method is different from the straight-line method in that the bond’s value appreciation increases in value closer to the bond’s maturity date.

Acquisitions and Accretion

Companies can also benefit from accretion. Through the concept of synergy, where there’s more output from combining multiple entities than the sum of them if still separate, an acquiring company adds the earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization (EBITDA), for example, to add to its existing shareholders’ value.

Illustrating How it Works

If Company X wants to increase its earnings per share for its shareholders, an acquisition is one way to do so. Assume Company X earned $1 million in net income the preceding year and has 3 million shares. And then there is Company Z, which had $500,000 in net income over the same time frame, with 1 million shares issued to raise cash. The following is a way to calculate the acquisition accretion value of the new combined company.

Earnings Per Share of Company X: 1,000,000 / 3,000,000 = 0.33

Earnings Per Share of the new company post-acquisition: ($1,000,000 + $500,000) / (3,000,000 + 1,000,000) = $1,500,000 / 4,000,000 = 0.375

Based on the calculation, the earnings per share of the post-acquisition company are $0.375. Compared to the EPS for the original, pre-acquisition Company X, the post-acquisition company is $0.045, resulting in a positive acquisition accretion.

Whether an individual investor is looking to see how bond accretion works or a company is looking at whether an acquisition makes business sense, understanding how accretion works is essential to ensure it’s accounted for properly.

Understanding The Q Ratio

Understanding The Q Ratio, What is Tobin's Q RatioWhen it comes to evaluating a business, there are many ways to perform a valuation. One way to do so is to use the Q Ratio. Known as Tobin’s Q Ratio or simply the Q Ratio, this method looks at the proportion between the values of a physical asset and its replacement cost. Developed by Nobel laureate economist James Tobin, this ratio presumes a single company; for public investors, if asset values can be estimated, the company’s market value of a publicly traded company may be approximately estimated.

The original formula is as follows:

Q Ratio = Market Value of Assets / Replacement Cost of Capital

While this formula is the original iteration, approximating an asset’s replacement value is complicated and oftentimes not 100 percent realistic to analyze. The more realistic way it’s calculated is by using book values in lieu of the asset’s replacement costs. The new way to calculate it is as follows:

Q Ratio = (Equity Market Value + Liabilities’ Market Value) / (Equity Book Value + Liabilities’ Market Value)

When it comes to calculating the overall market’s Q Ratio:

Q Ratio = Value of the Stock Market / Corporate Net Worth

Putting the Q Ratio in Practice

Essentially, it’s used to value a company. Once calculated, the Q Ratio provides internal stakeholders and outside investors with one way to evaluate a company.

Above 1

If the Q Ratio is more than 1, the business’ market value is higher than its booked assets. It means a company’s valuation is overestimated in the eyes of the market since there is some portion of the company’s assets that are either not documented or valued fully. When the Q Ratio is above 1, a business’ earnings are worth more than replacement costs for the assets. At this level, entrepreneurs are incentivized to develop a competitor business to gain market share and financial gain.

Equal to 1

When the Q Ratio equals 1, it implies the market sees the company’s assets as valued fairly.

Below 1

At this level, a business’ assets are worth more than fair market value, establishing the business as undervalued. Investors with enough assets can purchase the company in question, either via shares if publicly traded or outright if a private company, versus trying to create a competitor company to siphon value away from it.

Further Consideration

When it comes to the calculated Q Ratio, it’s important to keep it in context. While accountants can be precise with many things during preparation, when it comes to market forces and intangible assets, analysts need to use their judgment. Investors and market forces can create hyperbole for a business’ value that can’t be quantified and recorded by accountants. Stock analysts’ perspectives on a business’ prospects or rumors regarding future performance can modulate the present, dynamic valuation of the company.

Another consideration is how to document and gauge intangible assets like intellectual property and goodwill. While accountants can approximate IP or goodwill, it’s not an exact science.

Thus, when businesses use the Q Ratio to value their own company or one they consider purchasing, investors must take the Q Ratio as part of a holistic valuation approach.

Understanding Contribution Margin After Marketing

Contribution Margin After Marketing (CMAM)Contribution margin after marketing (CMAM) measures how much money is generated per unit retailed after factoring in a company’s variable costs, along with marketing costs.

It’s analogous with contribution margin, however, a business must factor in marketing costs the company experiences when publicizing a good to likely consumers with details on the business’ wares. This metric determines how well net sales can satisfy expense obligations and what percentage of net sales may remain to satisfy fixed expenses.

Comparing Variable Versus Fixed Costs

Variable costs, as the name implies, are expenses that rise and fall according to output quantities. Fixed costs, conversely, are expenses that don’t change despite variation of production quantities. Understanding these concepts is helpful when calculating CMAM to see how both types of expenses impact the different calculations.

CMAM = Sales Revenue – Variable Costs – Marketing Expense

It can also be determined on a per-unit basis to help a business understand how a single product unit contributes to the company’s comprehensive profits. One can calculate the CMPU (contribution margin per unit) as follows to provide a more granular analysis:

CMAM/Unit = Sales Revenue/Unit – Variable Expenses/Unit – Marketing Expense/Unit

What separates variable costs (including marketing expenses) from the sales revenue is CMAM. The balance is profit along with fixed costs. To calculate if a business saw a net loss or profit, the formula is:

Net Operating Profit = CMAM – fixed costs

If a profit is reported after subtracting variable costs, costs to market, plus fixed costs, it means a business or specific department is profitable. If it’s negative, the business sees a loss that won’t enable it to pay its bills.

Illustrating CMAM

When it comes to a company producing widgets, the following is already known. Variable costs for production for a single widget are detailed below:

  • $2.25 for unprocessed inputs
  • $1.80 firsthand production expenses
  • $0.50 power
  • $0.40 freight expenses
  • $4,500 business equipment rentals
  • $6,000 factory rent
  • $30,000 management salary
  • $10,000 marketing costs

Each widget costs $10, and the business sold 30,000 last year. Therefore, it’s calculated as follows:

CMAM = Sales Revenue – Variable Costs – Marketing Expense

Sales Revenue = $10 x 30,000 = $300,000

Variable Costs = ($2.25 + $1.80 + $0.50+ $0.40) x 30,000 = $4.95 x 30,000 = $148,500

CMAM = $300,000 = $148,500

The next step is to calculate net operating loss or profit: we take CMAM ($148,500), then subtract fixed costs:

$148,500 – ($4,500 + $6,000 + $30,000)

$148,500 – $40,500 = $108,000

Based on that calculation, the company producing widgets realized $108,000 for its net operating profit last year. The next section will discuss how businesses can use this information to improve their operations.

Using CMAM for Business Analysis

Managers use this metric to determine the viability of a product. If there are multiple iterations or options of a product, it can help managers determine which product sells the best and rank them if there are multiple versions of a widget. Businesses can analyze each unit’s contribution margin for each version of a widget to determine which versions provide the greatest option for profitability. Depending on the outcome, the company may choose to produce only the most profitable one or two widgets.  

When it comes to the CMAM, businesses that use it for analysis can increase their sales efficiency for the present and future.

How to Evaluate Accounts Receivables

Reconcile Accounts Receivable, Evaluate Accounts ReceivableAccording to the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, collection agencies saw $16.28 billion in revenue in 2019. While revenues have declined somewhat in recent years, unpaid invoices are still big business. Accounts receivable aging reports can help companies identify and mitigate unpaid invoices and potentially lower a business’ need to send unpaid invoices to collection agencies.

An accounts receivable aging report analyzes how well a company manages its accounts receivables (AR) and identifies the level of any abnormalities. It looks at receivables based on their age; specifically, the time the invoice has been unpaid and outstanding. Then, once receivables have been analyzed for non-payment based on different time frames, the business can determine whether to follow up with the customer, send it to collections, or write the invoice off.

Whether it’s created manually through a spreadsheet or done in conjunction with accounting or billing software, either way the AR aging report takes data from the company’s accounts receivable ledger. The following is a general overview of how to create this report:

Step 1: Aggregate invoices and determine if any credit memos or outstanding adjustments on outstanding invoices need to be addressed first.

Step 2: Create time frames for the invoices, be it buckets such as: 1. 0-30 days. 2. 31-60 days. 3. 60+ days. These can be referred to as “aging buckets” to categorize the invoices.

Step 3: Ensure fields for customer information, invoice details, invoice amounts, notes, etc., are ready for the information to flow into.

Step 4: Calculate unpaid invoice balances and group them by customer and time frame.

While this is only an example and can be modified based upon the company’s needs, it’s a starting point for further analysis. From there, along with updating the report on a monthly, quarterly or annual basis, the company can identify how to improve its cash position by determining its weak points.

One important consideration, especially for businesses with high levels of old, uncollected receivables, is that the company’s collection practices can be re-evaluated more effectively. The analysis can show that some customers take too long, and the company needs to be more proactive in following up with them sooner. It can also convey the need to incentivize their collections with early payment discounts.

This data also enables a company to identify customers who have outstanding payments and assess the associated risk to the company’s credit rating. Especially for publicly traded companies, and even for private equity investment evaluations, investors can see how competitive or not their credit rating is compared to similar companies in the same industry. When analyzing customers, it may be necessary to tighten terms or simply stop doing business with the customer.

Companies can offer pre- or early payment terms, with discounts available to customers who pay their invoices upon receipt or within a certain time frame. During challenging conditions for a particular sector or for the economy overall, businesses can set up payment plans to maintain positive relations with certain customers.

While there’s no perfect accounts receivable aging report, an effective one will organize, identify, and reduce the likelihood of increasing numbers of unpaid invoices.

Sources

https://fred.stlouisfed.org/series/REVEF56144ALLEST

Understanding Depreciation Recapture

Understanding Depreciation RecaptureWhen it comes to businesses and asset depreciation, there are many types available, such as straight-line, units of production, double declining balance, and sum of years digits. While these aren’t the only ones, they are available via the IRS code and help businesses reduce their taxable income. However, under certain circumstances, businesses have to be mindful when selling assets for a gain that could cause a tax liability through depreciation recapture.

Understanding Depreciation

Depreciation is defined as the reduction in the value of an asset through wear and tear. It can be a rental property or production equipment. Investors can use depreciation to lower their taxable income. While some companies can depreciate an asset’s value to $0, other companies may determine if an asset has salvage or scrap value when they sell it off to replace it with a more productive asset.

When an asset is sold off and it’s sold for a gain, the Internal Revenue Service considers this depreciation recapture. The IRS makes this determination because it missed the business’ taxable income that was otherwise reduced through depreciation at an earlier point in time.

When a business or investor has had possession of such assets for more than 12 months and it was depreciated to reduce taxable income, taxes may be collected if the asset is sold for a gain. It’s important to note that for assets sold at a loss, depreciation recapture doesn’t apply.

Assets that fall under Section 1250 and Section 1245 of the IRS Code, and what rate the asset is taxed at, depend on how the IRS classifies the asset. Section 1245 taxes filers at ordinary tax rates and applies to personal property such as manufacturing equipment and transportation vehicles. Section 1250 applies to real property such as warehouses, commercial buildings, and rental properties. Taxed at no more than 25 percent, Section 1250 depreciation recapture is indexed according to the filer’s ordinary tax rate.

Calculating Depreciation Recapture

This process looks at the discrepancy between the adjusted cost basis and what the asset sells for. It’s calculated as follows:

  1. Determine the cost paid for the asset, plus additional costs for the asset’s fees
  2. Calculate the asset’s adjusted cost basis. The section looks at both the impact of adding capital improvements to the asset, along with any potential loss accounts.
  3. Is there any loss or gain? Assets sold by a business for a loss, or lower than the adjusted basis, don’t trigger the depreciation recapture. However, if an asset’s sale results in a gain that’s higher than the asset’s adjusted basis, the business incurs a depreciation recapture tax obligation. It’s important to distinguish timelines. For example, if it’s one year or less, it’s short-term. If it’s for more than one year, it’s long-term. 

Illustrating Section 1245 Depreciation Recapture Calculation

As an example, let’s say a company bought a truck for its business needs for $50,000 and owned it for five years. After five years, the company sold it for $30,000.

Accumulated depreciation over the life of the item is $25,000. The adjusted basis is $25,000. The $30,000 sales price, minus the $25,000 adjusted basis, results in a $5,000 gain. With the accumulated depreciation of $25,000 compared to the $5,000 gain, the depreciation recapture is $5,000, which is taxed at ordinary rates.

When it comes to ensuring a business’ tax compliance is adhered to, understanding how depreciation recapture works is one part of the tax code that companies need to understand fully to ensure taxes are filed accurately.