Calculating the CAC Payback Period

Calculating the CAC Payback PeriodThe CAC Payback Period looks at how a business needs to recover its investment in attracting new customers. It is especially crucial for companies that are in industries with large marketing and sales costs. It’s an important metric because it helps businesses measure their performance in a number of ways.

First, it shows how well a business is managing its budget. Based on the resulting figure of the CAC Payback Period, the shorter the time required to break even on its customer acquisition costs, the more efficient a company is with its sales and marketing expenses. If, however, the result is high, this signals the company is doing something wrong and needs to analyze its current approach.

Running this analysis can also identify a company’s financial perils. The more prolonged the CAC Payback Period, the more likely a company might be facing cash flow concerns. Whether it is caused by overall economic conditions or industry or company-specific challenges, this is another reason for a company to run the numbers to see how it can mitigate or turn around the costs associated with acquiring customers.

The calculation also can help a business determine if it is able to expand to new products and markets and scale up existing product lines. The shorter the time needed to acquire new customers, the more likely a business can grow.

When investors and lenders analyze a company’s financials, including this metric, the more efficient a company is, and the more likely it will attract investors or have lenders offer favorable financing terms.

How to Calculate the CAC Payback Period

This scenario looks at $300,000 in customer acquisition costs, such as marketing, sales, etc., for a three-month period. The company obtained 1,000 new customers and is expected to gain $200,000 in new monthly recurring revenue (MRR), with an estimated gross margin of 60 percent.

First Step: Calculate the CAC by dividing Sales and Marketing Expenses by the new customers (1,000). It’s expressed as follows:

CAC = Sales and Marketing Expenses/Number of New Customers

CAC = $300,000/1,000 = $300 per customer

Second Step: This is to determine the monthly recurring revenue (MRR) per customer. The new MRR amount is divided by the number of newly acquired customers. It’s calculated as follows:

MRR = $200,000/1,000 = $200 per customer

Third Step: Determine the gross margin or how much remains from revenue after subtracting direct costs. In this case, we’ll use 60 percent.

Fourth (and Final) Step: This step determines how many months it will take to recoup the customer acquisition costs from the profits generated by the newly acquired customer. It’s calculated as follows:

CAC Payback Period = $300/($200 x 0.60) = 2.5

Based on the resulting 2.5 figure, it takes, on average, 2.5 months of profit from the newly acquired customers to pay for the customer’s acquisition cost.

Understanding CAC Payback Period Efficiency

If it’s less than 12 months, it’s favorable. This implies a business has an efficient approach to profitability and growth. However, it’s not a hard and fast rule because the repayment time frame can fluctuate based on the economy and the business operations. If a company is a low-margin business or industry (e-commerce, groceries, etc.), a far tighter payback time frame would be necessary to be viable.

There are many factors that can affect this company-specific measurement, such as the industry or sector, current economic conditions, or the business’ approach to gaining new customers. If a company has a shorter CAC Payback Period in an industry that has a generally accepted longer one, this can imply that the company is more efficient in its operations.

This metric is another tool in a financial analyst’s toolbox that can measure and identify efficiency (or lack thereof) and help put businesses back on track for greater financial health.

Common Business Accounting Calculations

Common Business Accounting CalculationsNo matter the type of business or industry, being able to analyze and deduce patterns is essential to discovering a business’ financial health. Here are four commonly used calculations to help internal and external stakeholders determine an organization’s ability to manage its finances.

Break-Even Analysis

This formula analyzes fixed costs versus the profitability a business earns for every extra item it creates and sells.

Businesses that have smaller thresholds to meet their fixed costs to realize profitability have an easier break-even point to meet and exceed. Once the fixed costs threshold is satisfied and sales revenue outpaces variable costs, a business will know when it hits the break-even point.

Break Even Point (BEP) = Total Fixed Costs/(Price Per Unit – Variable Cost Per Unit)

This takes the total fixed costs divided by the price per individual unit minus each unit’s variable cost.

Examples of fixed costs are rent, taxes, insurance and wages. Examples of variable costs are raw materials, production supplies, utilities and packaging.

Another way to determine a company’s break-even point is as follows:

Contribution Margin = Item Price – Variable Cost Per Unit

This is illustrated by: $55 = ($85 – $30)

The item’s priced at $85, with a variable cost of $30, the contribution margin is $55 of how much revenue a company earns to pay for the remaining fixed costs.

Cash Ratio Formula

The cash ratio formula offers one way to look at a company’s liquidity position by comparing a company’s cash and cash equivalents to its current liabilities or debts due within the next 12 months. It shows how well positioned a business is (or is not) able to pay debts due within 12 months, and to satisfy the near-term obligations of its long-term debt.

It’s an important ratio that lenders look at when evaluating a company’s loan application. Instead of including assets such as accounts receivables, it factors in a business’ ability to take care of its financial obligations. It’s thought of as being a more real world look at how financially stable a business is.

It’s calculated as follows: Cash Ratio: Cash + Cash Equivalents/Current Liabilities.

Gross Profit Margin

This is defined as all income minus the cost of goods sold (COGS). COGS is comprised of expenses attributable to the creation of products, which include input materials and salaries for workers to produce such goods. However, it excludes expenses for taxes, overhead, debt, asset acquisitions, etc., among others. Another way to explain this calculation is to ask how much a business retains as profit once production costs are accounted for.

It’s calculated as follows: Gross Profit Margin = [(Net Sales – Cost of Goods Sold)/(New Sales)] x 100

Debt-to-Equity (D/E) Ratio

This is used to determine how much debt or financial leverage a company has on its books. It tells internal stakeholders and external parties what percentage of debt a company is using to operate compared to the business’ available operating reserves. This ratio contrasts a business’ complete financial obligations against its shareholder equity. Its primary use is to see how extensively it uses debt to operate.

It’s calculated as follows: Debt/Equity Ratio = Total Liabilities/Total Shareholders’ Equity.

While these calculations may seem straightforward, these are only a few examples of how businesses can calculate and analyze a company’s position – be it the owner, an employee or an outside lender or investor.

How to Measure the Quality of Accounts Receivable

How to Measure the Quality of Accounts ReceivableAnalyzing a company’s Accounts Receivables is an effective way to measure its current cash flows and the likelihood of maintaining healthy cash flows. According to the U.S. Chamber of Commerce’s Small Business Index (Third Quarter 2024), 68 percent of small business owners reported being content with their third quarter cash flow performance. This illustrates the importance for small business owners to do everything possible to maintain healthy cash flows, including evaluating the quality of accounts receivables (A/R).

Defining Accounts Receivables

This account or line item on the balance sheet gives the business’ managers/owners and investors a measure on how much money a business expects to receive from selling goods or services. It’s an important metric because it’s a measure of what’s owed, but not yet collected from rendered services/goods.

Consideration for Uncollectable Accounts Receivables

While businesses hope to collect 100 percent of their A/Rs, businesses take a realistic view that not everyone will pay up. For whatever reason, A/Rs aren’t always collected and must be accounted for as uncollectable. Therefore, a contra account is setup to account for accounts receivables that turn into bad debt. This contra account is linked to the accounts receivable, an asset reported on the balance sheet, offsetting the accounts receivable balance. However, there are many metrics for companies to manage their health internally, and some of these metrics are discussed below.

Accounts Receivable-to-Sales Ratio

This is determined by taking a “snapshot” of the ratio or division of the accounts receivables divided by sales over a period of time. The resulting calculation is the percentage of a business’ unpaid sales. The higher the accounts receivable-to-sales ratio, the riskier the company’s financial health. It indicates a business has accounts receivables with a low likelihood of being collected. It’s calculated as follows:

AR to Sales = AR / Sales

Since it measures the mix of how much a business relies on cash versus credit, it can prompt an analyst to determine whether a company is able to operate on minimal cash with low fixed costs and limited outstanding debt. It can also prompt an analyst to determine if a company is subject to cyclical sales and is dependent on the business cycle and whether it’s the right time to invest in a company or hold off until a better entry point is established.

Accounts Receivable Turnover Ratio

This calculation determines how fast a business can convert its accounts receivables into cash. It calculates this over a discrete period, be it a month, quarter, year, etc. It’s calculated as the sales over a period divided by the average accounts receivables balance over the same period. It’s calculated as follows:

ARTR = Net Credit Sales / Average Accounts Receivable

Net Credit Sales = Sales on Credit – Sales Returns – Sales Allowances

Average Accounts Receivable = (Starting + Ending A/R Over a Fixed Time) / 2

The higher the ratio, the less friction businesses have in converting their accounts receivables into cash. One important consideration to keep in mind is that if total sales are used for this calculation, which some business do, the results don’t reflect the original formula because it doesn’t remove the sales on credit or sales allowances.

Days Sales Outstanding (DSO)

This metric reveals how fast (in average number of days) a company is able to turn its receivables into cash. It’s the average accounts receivables divided by net credit sales multiplied by 365. It’s calculated as follows:

DSO = (A/R / net credit sales) x 365 days

The lower the DSO, the better quality and the more efficient a company is in converting its accounts receivables into cash. The higher the DSO, and especially when it goes beyond 90 days, can represent two different financial measures. The first is that the business’ accounts receivables might not be collectable. The second is that the company might be able to make sales but with deteriorating earnings.

While there are many ways to analyze a company’s health, along with many ways to analyze the quality of existing and future accounts receivables, these are a few ways to evaluate a company’s present financial health and prospects for the future.

Sources

https://www.uschamber.com/sbindex/key-findings

Looking at the Expanded Accounting Equation

Whether it’s a private equity transaction or an institutional or retail investor, analyzing a company’s financial statements is an important part of fundamental analysis. One important but basic way to analyze whether a company is worth investing in is through the expanded accounting equation. The most straightforward equation to analyze a business’ balance sheet is:

Assets = Liabilities + Shareholder’s Equity

However, there are more detailed equations that analysts can employ to more closely examine a company’s financial situation. One way to look at it is by more comprehensive equations that break down net income and the transactions related to the equity owners (dividends, etc.).

This equation is a building block of accounting because it focuses on double-entry accounting – or that each occurrence impacts the bifurcated accounting equation – requiring the correct solution to always be in balance. This system is used for journal entries, regardless of the type of transaction. Looking at this equation in greater detail, here’s a more granular example:

Assets = Retained Earnings + Liabilities + Share Capital

Assets are the capital that give a business the ability to benefit from projected, increased productivity and hopefully increased gains. Whether it’s short-term (less than 12 months) or long-term (more than 12 months), it can take the form of real estate, cash, cash-equivalents, pre-paid expenses, accounts receivable, etc.

Liabilities are the amounts owed to lenders due to past agreements. This is related to the sum of liabilities, which is the total of current (up to 12 months) liabilities, plus long-term (more than 12 months) debt and related obligations. This takes the form of loans, accounts payable, owed taxes, etc. Shareholder’s equity is how much the company owners may assert ownership on after accounting for all liabilities.

Another way this equation can be expressed is as follows:

Assets = Liabilities + Contributed Capital + Beginning Retained Earnings + Revenue + Expenses + Dividends

Depending on the financial outcome of the company, dividends and expenses may be negative numbers.

To further explain, these variations on the equation help analysts break down shareholder’s equity. Revenues and expenses illustrate the delta in net income over discrete accounting/earning periods from sales and costs, respectively. Stockholder transactions are able to be accounted for by looking at what capital the original stockholders provided to the business and dividends, or earnings distributed to the company’s stockholders. Retained earnings are carried over from a prior accounting period to the present accounting period. Despite being elementary, the information is helpful for business managers and investors to develop a higher level of analysis.

When it comes to evaluating bankruptcy, it can help investors determine the likelihood of receiving compensation. When it comes to liabilities, should debts be due sooner or over longer periods of time, these debts always have priority. When it comes to liquidated assets, these are then used to satisfy shareholders’ equity, until funds are exhausted.  

While this is not a comprehensive look at how to analyze a company, it provides internal and external stakeholders with a way to build a strong financial analytical foundation.

Accounting Considerations for Capital Expenditures and Operating Expenses

When it comes to running a business, there are a lot of expenses incurred during operations. As of January 2024, New York University’s Stern School of Business had recorded nearly $1.2 trillion in capital expenditures by U.S. sectors. Considering this, there are two important concepts that are imperative to study for effective accounting treatment: capital expenditures (CapEx) and operating expenses (OpEx).

Defining CapEx and OpEx

Operating expenses (OpEx) are required outlays a company incurs on a more frequent basis to take care of day-to-day expenditures. Capital expenditures (CapEx), conversely, are larger purchases that businesses intend to use over the long term (at least 12 months). 

Different Considerations

OpEx

This type of asset is more of a short-term consideration. Expenses that fall under this category include utilities, wages, rent, taxes, selling, general and administrative expenses (SG&A). Unlike CapEx, businesses may benefit from tax deductions for these types of expenditures, as long as the business incurs the expense during the same tax year. These expenses reduce a company’s net income. However, they are not eligible for depreciation, which is how CapEx reduces a business’ net income. Since the entire expense is recognized right away, they’re reported on the income statement.

CapEx

This type of asset is intended to have a useful life of more than one year. Examples of these types of assets include warehouses, data centers, work trucks, etc. Many of these items fall under PPE or property, plant and equipment (PP&E) on the balance sheet. On the cash flow statement, it can be reported under the investing activities section.

Since these items are intended to last for a considerable time frame, such investments are planned to improve the profitability/capabilities of the business. Unlike OpEx, these expenditures are not tax deductible. It’s also important to understand this applies to intangible assets, such as patents, goodwill, etc.  

These types of assets are financed by either collateral or debt. Businesses also can issue bonds or get creative with their financing partners. Listed as a capitalized asset on the balance sheet, it’s depreciated over the asset’s useful life. However, it’s important to note that land is not depreciated.

Considerations between CapEx and OpEx

When it comes to CapEx, it’s important to know that some transactions can be paid for during the acquisition period; but acquisition costs also can occur over multiple accounting periods if it’s a long-term project, such as building a manufacturing plant or warehouse.

CapEx can determine the financial health of a company. If a company can reinvest in itself through patents, machinery, equipment, etc., along with maintaining or increasing its dividend payments to shareholders, then the company is on solid financial footing.

Depreciation for CapEx items is advantageous for companies because it provides a balance to the investment by lowering the company’s net income.   

There is another reason why both types of expenses exist. OpEx is a better choice if a business wants to be more agile and protect capital. CapEx would be used if a business is aiming to invest for long-term profitability and competitiveness.

Understanding how these two expenses are classified and accounted for are essential for businesses to navigate the accounting requirements and tax code effectively.

Sources

https://pages.stern.nyu.edu/~adamodar/New_Home_Page/datafile/capex.html