Beefing Up Laws for Illegal Immigrants and Preparing for Future Disasters

S 5,HR 152,HR 153,HR 164,HR 471, HR 187, HCon Res. 1Laken Riley Act (S 5) – A holdover from the last congressional session, this bill was re-introduced by Sen. Katie Britt (R-AL) on Jan. 6. It is similar to a 1996 law, the Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility Act, that deports illegal immigrants who are found guilty of serious crimes. This new bill enables the government to detain and deport illegals who are arrested for serious crimes or misdemeanors (such as shoplifting), but they do not have to be charged or found guilty. The legislation passed in the Senate on Jan. 20 and the House on Jan. 22, and it is expected to be the first bill signed by the Trump administration.

Federal Disaster Assistance Coordination Act (HR 152) – This legislation would amend the Disaster Recovery Reform Act of 2018 to authorize a new study designed to streamline and consolidate data regarding the collection of preliminary damage assessments. It was introduced by Rep. Mike Ezell (R-MS) on Jan. 3, passed in the House on Jan. 13, and is currently in the Senate.

Post-Disaster Assistance Online Accountability Act (HR 153) – This is a disaster companion bill, also introduced by Rep. Mike Ezell (R-MS) on Jan. 3. It would create an online repository for recipients of Federal disaster assistance to meet specific reporting requirements. The bipartisan bill passed in the House on Jan. 14, and its fate also lies with the Senate.

POWER Act of 2025 (HR 164) – Also known as the Promoting Opportunities to Widen Electrical Resilience Act, this non-controversial bill was passed on Jan. 15 under a House procedure called “suspension of the rules.” It would allow Federal agencies to provide essential assistance for the emergency restoration of power and not restrict utility company recipients from also qualifying for hazard mitigation assistance if necessary. The bill amends the previous Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act (1988), which details the process for federal government assistance to state and local governments following a major disaster. The bill was introduced by Rep. Valerie Hoyle (D-OR) on Jan. 3 and currently lies with the Senate.

Fix Our Forests Act (HR 471) – The purpose of this bill is to expedite improvements in forest management activities on National Forest public lands under the jurisdiction of the Bureau of Land Management to return resilience to overgrown, fire-prone forested lands. This bipartisan legislation was introduced by Rep. Bruce Westerman (R-AR) on Jan. 16 and passed in the House on Jan. 23. It currently lies with the Senate.

MAPWaters Act of 2025 (HR 187) – This bipartisan bill authorizes the standardization, consolidation, and publication of federal waterways data regarding outdoor recreational uses by the public, as tracked by federal land and water management agencies. The legislation was introduced by Rep. Blake Moore (R-UT) on Jan. 3, passed in the House on Jan. 21, and is under consideration in the Senate.

Regarding consent to assemble outside the seat of government (HCon Res. 1) – This concurrent resolution was introduced on Jan. 3 by Rep. Michelle Fischbach (R-MN). It is a bipartisan resolution, agreed to by all four majority and minority leaders in both houses, that would allow members of the House and the Senate to assemble at a location outside the District of Columbia if it is in the public interest. The resolution passed in the House on Jan. 3 and currently rests in the Senate.

Dissecting Bookings and Annual Recurring Revenue

What is Bookings and Annual Recurring RevenueWith the number of Amazon Prime member subscribers growing from 58 million in 2016 to 180 million in 2024, according to Statista, there’s a sustained recurring subscription model that one of America’s most successful retailers has increased more than 200 percent in eight years. Whether it’s a large company such as Amazon or a solopreneur beginning their recurring subscription services, it’s important to first distinguish between overall bookings and recurring revenue; and then to illustrate how businesses can measure these two types of revenue.

Dissecting Annual Recurring Revenue (ARR) and Bookings

Bookings are assurances of all anticipated earnings (recurring and one-off deals) because the business hasn’t satisfied the terms of the contracted services. Once it’s completed, the booking will turn into actual revenue. This factor is present in all sales deals, regardless of when revenue or cash will be transferred to the business from the customer. Non-recurring revenue includes training, special consulting projects, etc. (things that are one-off).

Annual Recurring Revenue (ARR) is a way to gauge recurring revenue a business projects to earn on a yearly basis. It’s quite common in eCommerce industries – be it subscriptions for food, software, etc. that are billed on a monthly or annual time frame.

How ARR Helps Businesses Analyze Operations

Businesses can determine demand trends, which help forecast recurring revenue. Lenders and investors can see how (in)efficient a company is with its marketing and sales efforts. It gives business owners and management the ability to determine customer retention and growth prospects while it provides internal and external users the ability to estimate a subscription’s worth. Additional insight businesses can gain from this metric include how much new customers add, how much renewals and upgrades impact ARR, and how churn and downgrades impact ARR.

How to Value a Company Using ARR

One common metric is Enterprise Value divided by ARR (EV/ARR), which is similar but important to distinguish from the EV/Revenue ratio. Since the ARR only factors in recurring revenue versus the EV/Revenue, which factors in all revenue regardless of the revenue recurring, the initial ratio provides a better assessment of the recurring revenue only. Assuming a company has an ARR multiple of 7 and its ARR is $15 million, the ARR has an enterprise value of $105 million.

Monthly Versus Yearly Recurring Revenue

While Monthly Recurring Revenue is not an entry on a business’s financial statements, it’s more of a key performance indicator (KPI). It’s not uncommon for companies to include it as part of their earnings releases. If a recurring subscription revenue is done monthly, it’s converted into Annual Recurring Revenue (ARR) as follows: MRR x 12 = ARR.

Recording Bookings

When a contract is signed, or an order is placed, it depends on how it’s handled. If the business receives cash prior to completing their monthly or yearly service expectation and say the contract is for $20,000 per month for 12 months, it would be recorded as follows:

Debit: Cash $240,000

Credit: Deferred Revenue $240,000

Since the contract has just been signed, but there’s been no product/service rendered, deferred or unearned, revenue has been created.

For every month that passes, the journal entry will progress as follows:

Debit: Deferred Revenue $20,000

Credit: Revenue $20,000

The deferred revenue account drops from $240,000 to $220,000, assuming the starting deferred revenue balance is even and there’s no deferred revenue.

The following month, the journal entries would be as follows:

Debit: Deferred Revenue $20,000

Credit: Revenue $20,000

This would occur every month until the end of the 12-month period.

Conclusion

When it comes to accounting for revenue, whether it’s booked, fulfilled by the company, or the payment received by the company, along with analyzing the time frame, it’s equally important to be familiar with the type of revenue it is for one to see how the company is performing.

What is Innocent Spouse Relief?

What is Innocent Spouse Relief?The word “innocent” in innocent spouse relief can be misleading. It doesn’t imply you’re perfect or blameless – it’s more about whether you knew or should have known about the tax issue. The IRS defines “innocence” in a specific way, and it hinges on the concept of reasonable ignorance. In short, the issue isn’t one of morality; it’s about whether you could have reasonably been unaware of a tax problem.

Innocent spouse relief allows you to avoid being held responsible for tax debts, penalties, and interest stemming from a joint tax filing. In the case that a spouse (or ex-spouse) made an error that led to a tax issue, regardless of intention, you may not have to shoulder the burden. Say your income wasn’t reported, excessive deductions were claimed, or tax fraud was committed. If you meet the IRS criteria, you can request relief by submitting Form 8857.

Qualifications for Innocent Spouse Relief

To qualify, you must meet several conditions.

  • Joint Tax Return: The tax liability must arise from a joint return. When you file together, both spouses are equally responsible for any tax issues that arise.
  • Tax Underreporting: The tax issue must stem from underreported income or an incorrect claim for deductions or credits. This could involve unreported income (like from offshore accounts) or fraudulent deductions made by your spouse.
  • Lack of Knowledge: You must show that, at the time of filing, you were unaware of the problem and had no reason to suspect it.
  • Unfair Responsibility: Lastly, it must be deemed unjust to hold you liable. The IRS looks at factors such as whether you benefited from the underreported taxes (e.g., through extravagant spending) or if you’ve divorced.

What Doesn’t Qualify for Innocent Spouse Relief?

Not all cases involving a spouse’s financial mismanagement qualify for relief. The IRS may reject your claim in the following situations:

  • Awareness of the Mistake: If you knew about the issue or should have known, you won’t be eligible for relief. Simply stating that you didn’t read the return won’t suffice. The IRS expects you to recognize obvious errors if you had access to the relevant information.
  • Divorce Doesn’t Automatically Provide Relief: Divorce alone doesn’t eliminate your liability for tax debt. Joint returns create shared responsibility, and being separated or divorced doesn’t mean the IRS will automatically release you from this obligation. You must prove your innocence through the relief process.
  • Disagreements Over Personal Spending: If your spouse’s spending decisions are something you disagree with, the IRS will not consider it a tax issue unless it involves unreported income or fraudulent deductions. The IRS focuses on tax matters, not marital conflicts over financial choices.

Pros and Cons of Filing

Advantages include:

  • Avoid Financial Hardship: Tax liabilities, along with interest and penalties, can be overwhelming. Innocent spouse relief can protect you from these financial burdens.
  • Clear Your Name: If you’ve been unfairly tied to a tax issue you didn’t cause, the relief process can help remove you from the responsibility.
  • Peace of Mind: Successfully claiming relief can bring emotional relief, especially if you’ve gone through a challenging marriage.

Potential drawbacks are:

  • No Guarantee of Approval: The IRS does not grant relief easily. You’ll need to provide strong evidence, and the process can be lengthy and difficult.
  • Time Limitations: You generally must apply for relief within two years of the IRS starting collection efforts. Missing this deadline could result in losing the opportunity for relief.
  • Invasive Process: The IRS will closely examine your financial and personal life, including details about your marriage and finances, which could feel intrusive if you value your privacy.
  • Possible Strain on Relationships: If you’re still married, filing for relief could cause tension, as it might be seen as blaming your spouse for the tax issue.

Conclusion

To request innocent spouse relief, you’ll need to file Form 8857. Be prepared to provide details about the tax years involved, an explanation of why you didn’t know about the issue, and any supporting documents (like bank statements, emails, or divorce decrees). After submitting the form, the IRS will notify your spouse or ex-spouse, who will have a chance to respond.

Calculating the CAC Payback Period

Calculating the CAC Payback PeriodThe CAC Payback Period looks at how a business needs to recover its investment in attracting new customers. It is especially crucial for companies that are in industries with large marketing and sales costs. It’s an important metric because it helps businesses measure their performance in a number of ways.

First, it shows how well a business is managing its budget. Based on the resulting figure of the CAC Payback Period, the shorter the time required to break even on its customer acquisition costs, the more efficient a company is with its sales and marketing expenses. If, however, the result is high, this signals the company is doing something wrong and needs to analyze its current approach.

Running this analysis can also identify a company’s financial perils. The more prolonged the CAC Payback Period, the more likely a company might be facing cash flow concerns. Whether it is caused by overall economic conditions or industry or company-specific challenges, this is another reason for a company to run the numbers to see how it can mitigate or turn around the costs associated with acquiring customers.

The calculation also can help a business determine if it is able to expand to new products and markets and scale up existing product lines. The shorter the time needed to acquire new customers, the more likely a business can grow.

When investors and lenders analyze a company’s financials, including this metric, the more efficient a company is, and the more likely it will attract investors or have lenders offer favorable financing terms.

How to Calculate the CAC Payback Period

This scenario looks at $300,000 in customer acquisition costs, such as marketing, sales, etc., for a three-month period. The company obtained 1,000 new customers and is expected to gain $200,000 in new monthly recurring revenue (MRR), with an estimated gross margin of 60 percent.

First Step: Calculate the CAC by dividing Sales and Marketing Expenses by the new customers (1,000). It’s expressed as follows:

CAC = Sales and Marketing Expenses/Number of New Customers

CAC = $300,000/1,000 = $300 per customer

Second Step: This is to determine the monthly recurring revenue (MRR) per customer. The new MRR amount is divided by the number of newly acquired customers. It’s calculated as follows:

MRR = $200,000/1,000 = $200 per customer

Third Step: Determine the gross margin or how much remains from revenue after subtracting direct costs. In this case, we’ll use 60 percent.

Fourth (and Final) Step: This step determines how many months it will take to recoup the customer acquisition costs from the profits generated by the newly acquired customer. It’s calculated as follows:

CAC Payback Period = $300/($200 x 0.60) = 2.5

Based on the resulting 2.5 figure, it takes, on average, 2.5 months of profit from the newly acquired customers to pay for the customer’s acquisition cost.

Understanding CAC Payback Period Efficiency

If it’s less than 12 months, it’s favorable. This implies a business has an efficient approach to profitability and growth. However, it’s not a hard and fast rule because the repayment time frame can fluctuate based on the economy and the business operations. If a company is a low-margin business or industry (e-commerce, groceries, etc.), a far tighter payback time frame would be necessary to be viable.

There are many factors that can affect this company-specific measurement, such as the industry or sector, current economic conditions, or the business’ approach to gaining new customers. If a company has a shorter CAC Payback Period in an industry that has a generally accepted longer one, this can imply that the company is more efficient in its operations.

This metric is another tool in a financial analyst’s toolbox that can measure and identify efficiency (or lack thereof) and help put businesses back on track for greater financial health.

Tips for Tax Season

Tips for Tax SeasonWhether you file your income tax return early or at the last minute, there are ways to simplify the process and reduce what you owe – or even increase your refund – before the deadline.

Filing Simplification Tip

Once you receive your W-2 and/or 1099 tax forms, see what income tax bracket you fall under to determine whether you should itemize expenses or take the standard deduction. Thinking about this step first can save you a lot of time. If you don’t come near the standard deduction amount, you will not be itemizing expenses. And if you are not itemizing expenses, you won’t have to gather all the receipts (e.g., mortgage interest, property tax, state and local income taxes, and sales tax paid in 2024).  

2024 Tax Season Income Tax Brackets

 
Single filer Married filing separately Married filing jointly (includes qualifying widow/er) Head of Household Tax Rate

$0 to $11,600 

$0 to $11,600 

$0 to $23,200 

$0 to $16,550 

10%

$11,601 to $47,150 

$11,601 to $47,150 

$23,201 to $94,300 

$16,551 to $63,100 

12%

$47,151 to $100,525 

$47,151 to $100,525 

$94,301 to $201,050 

$63,101 to $100,500 

22%

$100,526 to $191,950 

$100,526 to $191,950 

$201,051 to $383,900 

$100,501 to $191,950 

24%

$191,951 to $243,725 

$191,951 to $243,725 

$383,901 to $487,450 

$191,951 to $243,700 

32%

$243,726 to $609,350 

$243,726 to $365,600 

$487,451 to $731,200 

$243,701 to $609,350 

35%

$609,351 or more 

$365,601 or more 

$731,201 or more 

$609,351 or more

37%

2024 Tax Season Standard Deductions

Single filer and married filing separately Married filing jointly (includes qualifying widow/er) Head of Household

$14,600

$29,200

$21,900

Retirement Saving Tips

It’s not too late to contribute to an IRA. Both the traditional and Roth IRAs allow you to make contributions for 2024 up until the tax-filing deadline of the following year – which this year is Tuesday, April 15. The advantage to this later deadline is that you can complete your taxes before they are due, then adjust them to reduce your tax liability if needed by contributing to your IRA. The total maximum contribution you can make to all of your IRAs combined (both Roths and traditional) is $7,000 for 2024 or $8,000 if you are 50 years or older.

However, if you have a Roth IRA, there are restrictions to contributions based on your 2024 income. You may make the maximum contribution to your Roth only if your 2024 modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) is less than a certain threshold.

Filing Status MAGI Contribution amount

Single and Head of Household filers

Below $146,000

Between $146,001 and 161,000

Above $161,000

$7,000/$8,000 (age 50+)

Phased (IRS Worksheet 2-2)

Nothing

Married filing jointly

(includes qualifying widow/er)

Below $230,000

Between $230,000 and $240,000

Above $240,000

$7,000/$8,000 (age 50+)

Phased (IRS Worksheet 2-2)

Nothing

Be aware that the amount of deduction you can claim for a traditional IRA contribution may be limited if you or your spouse are covered by a retirement plan at work.

Filing Status MAGI Deduction amount

Single and Head of Household filers

$77,000 or less

Between $77,000 and 87,000

$87,000 or more

Full deduction

Partial (IRS Worksheet 1-2)

None

Married filing jointly

(includes qualifying widow/er)

$123,000 or less

Between $123,000 and 143,000

$143,000 or more

Full deduction

Partial (IRS Worksheet 1-2)

None

Married filing separately

Less than $10,000

$10,000 or more

Partial (IRS Worksheet 1-2)

None

If you make a traditional and/or Roth IRA contribution by the April 15 deadline, you may qualify for the Retirement Saver’s Credit (also available if you contributed to an employer plan by Dec. 31, 2024). The maximum credit is $1,000 ($2,000 for married couples), and it can increase your refund or reduce the tax you owe. However, the saver’s credit is subject to other deductions, credits, and income restrictions.

Filing Status MAGI

Single and Married filing separately

up to $57,375

Married couples filing jointly

(includes qualifying widow/er)

up to $76,500

 

Head of Household Filers

up to $57,375

Work with an experienced tax preparer to take advantage of legitimate deductions and credits to ensure that you only pay what is required for your situation.